77: Pavo and a Christmas video

Buenos dias, hermanos y hermanas!

This week was a good one. Well, every week is a good one, especially when you’ve embarked in the service of your Savior. And even more so after Thanksgiving when EVERYONE is excited about CHRISTMAS!

Thanksgiving was great this year. We had dinner with the G family. Hermana G has been less active for a good while, and we’ve been helping her and her (20 and 22-year-old) daughters come back. They’re super cool. And Hermana G is an EXCELLENT cook. The turkey she made was one of the best ones I’ve ever had. The flan was really good too. And her daughters made a carrot cake from scratch that was SO GOOD. It was awesome.

Afterward we went to the stake center to play soccer with all the missionaries in the stake. It got pretty intense… so I mostly just sat on the sidelines and watched because I’m a coward. Haha. It was still a good time, talking to other missionaries and stuff.

This week we worked a lot with a newer investigator, C. She’s the sweetest lady and SO prepared for the gospel. She’s super sensitive to the Spirit and loves the Savior. We invited her to be baptized and she accepted immediately. Later she said “I just felt it, so I said yes. I always do what feels right.” She came to church on Sunday and loves everything we teach her. I won’t be here for her baptism on the 21st, but I’m super happy and excited for her! We’re hoping to start teaching her husband too this week.

On Saturday, we received training from President Mullen about the Church’s Christmas initiative, “He is the Gift.” If you haven’t seen the video yet, you can watch it at Christmas.mormon.org (or navidad.mormon.org in Spanish). It’s beautiful and is about how we can focus on the greatest Christmas gift that the world has ever received. We’re encouraging everyone to share it with their family members and friends to help the world remember to keep the Christ in Christmas. There are even “He is the Gift” pass-along cards in the December Ensign, so that everyone can get involved. It’s really cool. :]

13648_890039701029652_3453614115301784472_n

After the training, I had my outgoing interview with the mission president. It was weird. Not the interview itself, just the fact that I was having it. President Mullen gave me advice about going back to normal life, we talked about my goals and plans and stuff, and he encouraged me to continue working hard for the last two weeks of my mission. That’s so strange to me. I feel like I just got here. I remember when I was in my first area, in Moreno Valley, I had a dream that I just woke up one day and my whole mission was over and I was going home. In my dream, my 18 months were over, but it had only felt like 3. I had felt disoriented and confused. Now I feel like that dream is coming true- It’s really hard for me to believe that it’s been a whole year and a half. I look back and try to see where all that time went and I just can’t wrap my head around it. BUT I’m not done yet, and I’m going to see some great miracles before I’m gone!

Until next week,

Hermana Howell

P.S. From the Mom… Deryk will be speaking in church on December 21 at 9 a.m. There will be an open house that same day from 1-3 at our home. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions! We CAN’T WAIT!!!

P.P.S. Pavo=Turkey.

Leave a Reply

