76: Another week in paradise

This week was fairly uneventful, besides the usual missionary stuff.
We did see like six different crazy people just dancing on the side of the road yesterday. Also a guy riding a bike with his fishing pole. (There is nowhere to fish here, as far as either Sister Spencer or I are aware.) Hemet is a pretty interesting place.
We had a nice multi-zone conference with President and Sister Mullen and the Assistants on Tuesday. We talked a lot about finding new people to teach, which is good because our teaching pool has been evaporating of late. We’ve been trying to put the things we learned into practice and  we expect to soon see the fruits of our faith and our labors!
I also got volunteered to do the musical number for the “chapel portion” of multi-zones. I sang “Abide With Me; ‘Tis Eventide” in Spanish. It’s one of my favorite hymns, and I believe the Spanish translation is even more beautiful. Since my voice is WAY out of shape from being on a mission for a good while, I don’t think I did it justice. But it was still nice and the Spirit was there, and that is what actually counts.
Another cool thing that happens at multi-zones is the “incoming and outgoing testimonies.” All the missionaries that came in the last 2 transfers get to stand up and share their testimonies. Then all the missionaries that will be leaving in the next 2 transfers get to stand up and share theirs. It’s always really cool… except this time I had to stand up. It’s so surreal to me- I feel like I JUST BARELY gave my incoming testimony. The time has gone by SO FAST and I can’t believe how little time is left. I got pretty emotional as I shared my feelings about the gospel and this sacred work of sharing it with our Heavenly Father’s children.
Luckily I still have a good few weeks left to work myself to the bone. I’m determined not to “die” prematurely and to endure to the end! My time here is so precious and so limited, and I’m going to make the most of the last three weeks I’ve got to wear my name next to Christ’s on my chest and “invite others to come to Christ.” And there’s no better time of year than now, as Christmas draws nearer and people’s minds start to turn to the first Christmas gift- our loving Heavenly Father’s only begotten Son. (The Church is going to put out a SWEET video, like the Easter “Because of Him” video for Christmas, called “He is the Gift.” We got a sneak peek of it this week- I think it’s going to be on YouTube on Dec 7? Not exactly sure on the date.)
Anyways, that’s about it for this week. Have a great Thanksgiving! Special birthday shoutout to Elder Trevy- put some candles on the turkey or something. :]
Hasta la proxima,
Hermana Howell
fotos: Hemet zone
IMG_0480[1]
Behold the Dragon Wagon
IMG_0478[1]
I’ll just leave this one up to your interpretation.
IMG_0476[1]
Leave a Reply

