58: Careful what you ask for

Well… I prayed this week to ask God to help me be more humble and diligent… and He’s giving me lots of opportunities to develop those attributes.

 
Most- bueno, all of our investigators are on hold right now. One went to Mexico for a vacation, one is on doctor’s orders to bedrest because of problems with her pregnancy, and one who was just about to get baptized decided he wanted to investigate another church instead.
 
It’s been a rough week.
 
BUT we’ve seen our share of miracles though! We have had referrals from members, investigators, and just random people we talk to almost every single day. And we’ve been able to contact each of these people’s friends and family members. So cool. Even though we’ve run into problems (and a lot of them), God keeps moving His work forward. “The standard of truth has been erected. No unhallowed hand can stop the work from progressing.”
 
I know we’re here on the Lord’s errand. We’re here to help EVERYONE come closer to Christ. Sometimes it’s just hard because the people don’t want to listen or act. But when we find those who are ready, it’s amazing. I love getting to see the light of the gospel change these people’s lives. By no means is it an easy change. But there’s a phrase in Spanish that I love that sums it up pretty well- “vale la pena.” It means, basically, “it’s worth it,” but better. Every sacrifice that a person makes, every challenge that they overcome, will be recompensed many times over in blessings from their loving Heavenly Father. Living the gospel is hard, for a reason. Nothing worthwhile is ever easy.
 
I am so thankful for the knowledge I have of the restored gospel of Jesus Christ. I love my Savior and I know that He lives. I love you all too and know that Christ paid the price so that we would have the ability to return to live with Him and our Father again.
 
Hasta la proxima,
 
Hermana Howell
 
Leave a Reply

