45: Gracias a El (Because of Him)

This week was a tough one, but I learned a whole lot! We got asked by a few people, who seemed really promising and ready to accept the gospel, not to come back anymore. It’s always so sad when people get a glimpse of the message we share and choose to reject it. It’s hard on us too, since we start to love these people almost immediately. We know the blessings and happiness that they could start to receive, but they don’t choose to do the things that qualify them for those blessings. It’s so sad, but I know that God has a plan for each one of His children, and we’ll all have an equal opportunity to accept and receive these blessings, whether it be now or further on down the path.
 
I hope everyone got a chance to watch the Easter video that the Church put out at easter.mormon.org (or pascua.mormon.org in Spanish.) We decided to give it an extra boost to try and get it out for everyone to see, by setting up a booth at the swap meet. It was SO COOL. We had a table full of pass-along cards, copies of the Book of Mormon, and pamphlets in English and Spanish, and even a few copies of the Book of Mormon in Chinese. We also had a projector and a screen set up, where we showed the Because of Him/Gracias a El video and a few other videos from mormon.org . It was so cool. We spent the morning talking to EVERYONE and it was a huge success! We got several return appointments and taught a bunch of lessons just right there in front of the booth. It was a really cool experience and we really got our name out there.
 
I love my Savior. I know that He really did suffer and pay the price for all of my mistakes and shortcomings. I know that as I trust in Him and lean on Him, I can overcome these mistakes and shortcomings and be able to return to live with Him and our loving Heavenly Father again. I am so grateful for His sacrifice and that He chose to go through all that He did just so that He could help me become better and so that He would know how to comfort me in times of difficulty. (Alma 7:11-13) I know that He did this because He loves me and wants to have me come and live with Him again.
 
I also know that this is true for EVERYONE. He did this for me, but He also did it for you, and your neighbor, and every person that you see on the streets… every single person. He did this because we are ALL children of our Heavenly Father and both He and His Son love us more that we can ever fathom. They want an eternal family just as badly- if not more so- as any of us do.
 
I love this Gospel and I’m so thankful for the chance I have to share it with the people here. I love you all so much! Happy Easter!
 
Hermana Deryk Howell
Leave a Reply

