39: Like a crazy person

Buenos dias!
 
This last week was bien eventful… I’m not even sure what all to write about! I’ll just go day-by-day, I guess.
 
Monday- P day. We just did some laundry and grocery shopping and stuff. Sister Hartling found Scattergories somewhere in the depths of the Barn and so we played that for a while before going out and trying (and failing) to get in contact with our investigators.
 
Tuesday- District meeting, in which Sister Bateman gave a super duper training on repentance and helping our investigators understand it better. Then we had lunch with a slightly-crazy member and visited some investigators and potentials. We met D, who was SUPER cool. We taught him the Restoration and he felt the Spirit so strongly and accepted baptism immediately. We’re working with him to be able to make his goal and come closer to Christ. Unfortunately he’s kinda flakey and it’s hard to catch him at home.
 
Wednesday- Went on exchanges! Sister Hartling and I went to Moreno Valley with Sister Luccion. It was so awesome (and a little weird) to be back in MoVal, even in the same apartment. We got to see the T family, including my convert B and his recently-baptized wife, C. It was really nice. I also held a teeny-tiny Shih Tzu puppy. I took a picture but forgot to bring my cord this week. Sowwy.
 
Thursday- Back in my area. We started the day by helping a recent convert clean one of the apartments that she manages. Later that day we had dinner with some of the Elders’  investigators. The mom is really interested, and the kids are already baptized. The mom wants to get baptized… but the dad is being kind of a pain apparently. She said a couple of times that she wants to get married so she can be baptized, but he’s having none of it. Kind of sad. But anyway, we got talking to him and found out that even though the Elders have been teaching the family for a good long while, he’s still never read ANY of the Book of Mormon. We started testifying and telling him how important the Book of Mormon is and bore our testimonies of the truthfulness and power it has as the word of God. He started out all prideful and “I’m so much smarter than you little girls,” but his smirk kind of dissippated as the Spirit worked on him. We committed him to read and pray about it to know for himself. We’re not sure if he did, but it was such a powerful experience.
 
Friday- Followed up on a potential that I’d talked to in the parking lot of a Hispanic market a couple of days earlier, named A. He’s also super cool- when I talked to him the first time, he looked so shocked that I had struck up the conversation with him. He told me he’d been trying to kind of turn his life around and saw it as a sign from God that I’d approached him. He’d been caught up in some bad stuff, but he has a sincere desire to change and come to Christ. We’re very excited to see how things go with him.
 
Saturday was medio crazy- We started off helping Hermana M clean out her garage a bit. She’s a clothing designer, and there was a ton of patterns and bolts of fabric. Then she opened up some boxes of clothes and told us to take whatever we wanted- most of them still had tags and everything!
 
We took our car in to the shop to get something checked out with the brakes. Then we realized it’d be there for a good few hours, so we called a member to see if she could shuttle us to a few appointments while the car got worked on. Hermana J helped us out a ton and shared a beautiful testimony with several people.
 
After getting our car back, we met up with D at the stake center to talk to her before her baptismal interview. She was getting really nervous about taking this step, especially without the support of her family. We showed her the baptismal font and asked her if she wanted to go inside. As she got into the empty font with us, she started to cry. She said that as we were talking about baptism earlier, she got really nervous and scared and her heart started pounding, but when she was in the font, thinking about actually making that covenant with God, she was filled with peace. She said, “I crave this feeling.” It was so beautiful and we were all crying.
 
Later that night however, she texted us and said she didn’t feel like she could go through with it. Her mom, and even her member grandma were being unsupportive and telling her that she wasn’t ready. They were all afraid of the dad’s reaction, whom D hadn’t even told that she was meeting with us. We ran over to her house with some of her member friends and talked to her until we were almost late getting home.
 
Sunday- Talked to D and her grandma with the bishop. She’s going to fast and pray and then talk to her dad this week before getting baptized. The poor girl was so nervous and upset, but now she’s more calm and at peace, and we’re going to support her as she faces her fears.
 
Monday- Multi-Zone Conference with President and Sister Smart! They’re so wonderful. I learned SO MUCH- pages and pages of notes. I also accompanied Sister Jin, from Korea, on her violin solo. I messed up a few times (almost 9 months without practice is starting to show) but it was beautiful and the Spirit was very strong.
 
Today I got my hair cut… good thing, too! I realized that the last time I cut my hair was in the MTC in July! It looks great- I’ll have to show you next week when I bring a cord to hook up my camera to the computer. Oops!
 
I learned so much this week- the biggest thing would probably be to put away my fear. It only keeps me back from sharing the beautiful message that I have and from bringing more blessings into the lives around me. “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out all fear.” (1 John 4:18)
 
Love y’all!
Sister Howell
 
P.S. from the Mom… Although Sis. Howell forgot pics this week, I borrowed this one off of Sis. Beck’s blog. =]
 
Image
Leave a Reply

