32: I live in a barn. Barns are cool.

WOW a lot happened this week!
 
Sorry I didn’t email on my regular day- the library was closed so none of us were able to email yesterday.
 
First things first, I’m no longer in Moreno Valley. Leaving was super hard and I look forward to going back to visit all the people that I’ve come to love so much. I’m now working in the Jurupa zone. Because a lot of stuff went down at the beginning of the week, I’m in a trio again, with Sister Bowen (from Utah) and Sister Hartling (from Colorado) and we cover two areas: Rubidoux and Mira Loma/Eastvale. This is Sister Bowen’s third transfer in the field and she’s AWESOME. She’s so humble and sees the Lord’s hand in everything. This is Sister Hartling’s 7th transfer and she’s so good at extending commitments fearlessly. I’m excited to learn a lot from both of them. I’m starting my 5th transfer in the field and I still don’t know what I’m doing, but at the very least I feel like I’m good at Spanish, so that’s something. :]
 
Obviously not  “THE barn”. Just A barn. -The Mom
 
Our home, as I mentioned before, is literally a barn. It’s pretty cool. (Not just in the literal sense, but that too.) We have lots of animal friends here. There are 4 dogs, 3 of which I know by name. The next door neighbor has a horse that Sister Bowen calls Riley, but we’re not sure if that’s the actual name. And of course there’s the roosters. We estimate there are at least 50 roosters living just outside The Barn. That’s not including the hens and little chicks.
Did you know that roosters wake up at 4 am every day? And the first thing they do when they wake up at 4 am is hold a who-can-scream-the-loudest contest? I’m learning so many interesting facts in The Barn.
 
But really I do love it here. There are definitely some obstacles to overcome and some challenges, but I know that I was called to serve right now in these areas with these companions. The Lord wouldn’t call me to do something that I couldn’t accomplish. It’s going to be hard, but we will start seeing miracles as we exercise our faith and do our very best with the blessings we already have been given.
 
There’s one family that I met just after getting here that is just AWESOME that I’ve had the opportunity to teach. I met this family my first night here in Jurupa and they’re SO prepared right now. Sister Bowen says that they’ve opened up a lot more in the last week than ever before, and they’ve had missionaries off and on for quite a while. But the last few lessons we’ve had with them have been SUPER powerful and the Spirit has been really strong. They’ve accepted a date for baptism and are dedicated to work towards it. Tonight we’re teaching the Restoration to the 8-year-old twin girls. It’ll be really cool.
 
I love you all SO much and I’ll be sure to take some pictures of The Barn and my companions to send next week!
Leave a Reply

