Week 5- Ya salgo del CCM? NO LO CREO. (Now I leave the MTC? DO NOT BELIEVE.)

I can NOT believe that this is the last email I’ll be sending from the MTC. Time has flown by like craycray.

I leave for California next Tuesday morning and then I’ll be in California for 17 months- it’s NUTS! I’ve learned SO MUCH in these short weeks here, and I feel about as prepared as I ever will. I’m a little nervous to be trusted with telling actual people about the Gospel in a language I’ve only been speaking (badly) for a little more than a month. But as Nephi said, “I know that the Lord God giveth no commandment to the children of men save he hath prepared a way that they might accomplish it.” (Or something very close to that. I don’t have my scriptures right here with me at this moment.)

This has been an interesting week. I have been working on exercising my faith and I’ve gotten several opportunities to do so. AND IT’S CRAZY HARD. There’ve been some tough things that I’ve felt impressed to do, and I don’t know what’s going to come of it, but I’m trying my best to put my trust in the Lord. I know that He loves me so He would never ask me to do something that’s going to lead to unhappiness, so I know that everything’s going to work out SOMEHOW… I just don’t know how yet. And I have to get to the point where I’m okay with that. And the only way I’m going to get any help with that is by exercising more faith and praying and reading the scriptures and praying and praying some more. Todo sera bien. (All will be well.)

Other than that, it’s been a pretty uneventful week. I’ve discovered that Utah is super weird and EVERYTHING shuts down for Pioneer Day- including buses and post offices. Which is a major pain because The Day That Utah Shuts Down is on my P-Day so I can’t even get on the bus over to the Main Campus to send a package and get supplies from the bookstore or make copies or ANYTHING. Our branch president said that we could go tomorrow for an hour or so though, so that’s good.

I also just LOVE Espanol. It’s a beautiful language and I’m really starting to get the hang of it! Yesterday we had a 40-minute lesson in the TRC (where we talk with members as themselves instead of as fake investigators) and I was able to express pretty well my ACTUAL FEELINGS and tell a personal experience and even when the discussion didn’t go where I had thought it would, I still had the words to keep up in the conversation! And the ladies we met with were talking crazy fast and I understood most of what they were talking about! It was SO GREAT! We talked about modern-day prophets and how it’s important to seek their teachings, because they’re scripture too! We also talked about how much we love different apostles and prophets and how they all have different ways of speaking to touch the souls of different kinds of people. I bore my testimony of Joseph Smith not just as a prophet, but also as an awesome guy that I can’t wait to meet after this life. (Seriously, I just LOVE Joseph Smith. I feel like we’d be super tight.)
I’m afraid I forgot my camera again this week, so no pictures… lo siento. (Sorry.)
Les quiero!

Hermana Howell

PS- As I said, I’m leaving the MTC forever on Tuesday, so letters/packages that would arrive on/after the 29th probably should be sent to my other address in Riverside, CA. (It’s on my facebook and somewhere on the blog. Or you can contact my mom for it.)
Deryk’s mission address:
Hermana Deryk Blair Howell
California Riverside Mission
5900 Grand Ave.
Riverside, CA 92504-1328
Leave a Reply

